Anna Junior High School, Jonesboro School and Lick Creek School competed at the Murphysboro Twilight Invitational cross country event on Friday, Aug. 23. Photo provided.

Anna, Jonesboro, Lick Creek compete at junior high cross country invitational

Anna Junior High School and Jonesboro School started cross country teams for the first time in school history to join Lick Creek School, which started a program five years ago. 

All three teams began their season Friday, Aug. 23, at the Murphysboro Twilight Invitational. 

Sixteen teams converged on Riverside Park to compete in the inaugural running of the invitational, which organizers hope to make an annual event.

The girls’ team results are as follows: 1. Jonesboro. 2. Triad. 3. Murphysboro. 4. Lick Creek. 5. Anna, to round out the top 5. 

Jadyn Gerardi, a 5th grade standout runner from Lick Creek, took first place overall in the 1.86-mile race with a time of 11:46. There were over 200 runners in the event. 

Next for the local teams was Zoe Jones from Jonesboro in 11th. Briana Hileman of Jonesboro finished 13th. Kaitlin Matuszewich from Anna was 17th, Reese Jones of Jonesboro was 19th and Kenzie  Miller of Jonesboro was 20th. 

Raegan Jones of Jonesboro was 21st followed by Raelynn Sadler from Anna in 25th. Lydia Jerrell from Lick Creek finished 28th with Kayla Matuszewich in 30th. 

Hannah Webb from Anna was 32nd followed by Kylee Myers from Lick Creek in 33rd. Meranda Wright from Lick Creek was 36th and Kenzie Stover from Lick Creek was 47th.  

Brooklyn Eastman, Lakelynn Carter and Tess Wilkins from Anna finished 62nd, 63rd and 64th, respectively. 

Katie Sullivan also competed for Anna.  Also competing for Jonesboro was Mackenzie Pearson, Mackenzie Barnhart and Kinley Leek. Lick Creek also had Mya Clutts and Leah Buchheit. 

“I am so proud of all of these kids, they have worked very hard all summer, and six days a week since August started, they deserve it,” coach Matt Denny stated.

On the boys’ side Zach Henry of Anna finished 7th in a very competitive race. Also competing from Anna were Josh Williams, Wyatt Wright and Foster Needling. 

Blake Abernathy led Jonesboro followed by Ben Marggraf.

Lick Creek was led by Kaleb Stover who was followed by Luke Schlenker. 

“I was very proud of all of the kids and how they competed, it’s going to be a fun year that is for sure,” Denny said.

The Gazette-Democrat

112 Lafayette St.
Anna, Illinois 62906
Office Number: (618) 833-2158

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
7 + 10 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
Comment Here