Some of the swimmers made an honorary award for a parent they felt was most encouraging through the season. Ricky Borders was named the honorary cheer captain for the team. Photo providedDarcy Conder was named swimmer of the year. She is with coaches Maci, Melissa and Clair. Photo provided.High Point Trophy recipient: Niah Chotner. Photo provided

Blue Dolphins wrap up 2019 swim season

The Anna Blue Dolphins wrapped up their 35-year anniversary season in July. 

The team competed in the SISL Championship Meet held at Carbondale on July 27.  

The meet included swimmers from all seven SISL teams which qualified and were selected to attend the meet.  

This year’s Blue Dolphins championship team included: 

Katryna Borders, Sabryna Borders, Trystan Borders, Ava Boreup, Leah Buchheit, Niah Chotner, Nile Chotner, Noah Chotner, Adam Clark, Caprice Conder, Darcy Conder, Lydia Conder, JJ Dallas, Luke Dallas, Tilman Dallas, Gwendelynn Eastman, Haley Graff, Karson Graff, Hadassah Harvel, Isabella Hawk, Alexis Houseman, Agent Inman, Kinley Leek, Isaiah Lieberman, Aden Lingle, Ben Marggraf, Michael Marggraf, Jamison Marggraf, Drue Teske, Christian Thompson, John Turner and Marissa Turner. 

Two of the Blue Dolphins swimmers placed in the top three high point category in their age group.

Winners were Niah Chotner, High Point Girls 6 & under; and Michael Marggraf, High Point Boys 7-8. 

Thirteen swimmers earned team points at the meet.  Those placing in the top three in their events include:

Nile Chotner - Boys 13-14 50 Fly - 1st Place.

Nile Chotner - Boys 13-14 100 IM - 3rd Place.

Darcy Conder - Girls 15-18 50 Fly - 2nd Place.

Bella Hawk - Girls 11-12 50 Fly - 3rd Place.

Bella Hawk - Girls 11-12 50 Free - 1st Place.

Agent Inman - Girls 11-12 100 IM - 3rd Place.

Agent Inman - Girls 11-12 50 Breast - 2nd Place.

Jamison Marggraf - Boys 6&under 25 Back - 3rd Place.

Michael Marggraf - Boys 7-8 25 Free - 2nd Place.

Michael Marggraf - Boys 7-8 25 Back - 3rd Place.

End of Year Party

The Blue Dolphins had an end of the year party on Sunday, July 28.  

The party was held at the Anna Pool, with food and awards following their swim session.  

Awards were presented to swimmers for several categories, including season high points, MVP, most improved and swimmer of the year.  

High Point

1) Nile Chotner -274.50

2) Isabella Hawk  - 252

3) Michael Marggraf - 250

4) Adam Clark - 237

5) Agent Inman - 230

6) Ben Marggraf - 217

7) Darcy Conder - 190

8) Jenna Clark - 181.5

9) Jamison Marggraf - 147

9) Luke Dallas - 147

10) Lakelyn Carter - 140

Most Improved 

1) Trystan Borders, 54.71 seconds 

2) Kinley Leek, 36.09 seconds 

3) Sabryna Borders, 35.08

4) Tilman Dallas, 33.24 seconds

5) Luke Dallas, 33.14 seconds 

6) JJ Dallas, 30.98 seconds

7) Hadassah Harvel, 29.74 seconds

8) Paxton Boreup, 29.25 seconds

9) Kinley Lingle, 26.55 seconds

10) Haley Graff, 22.84 seconds

MVP for Meet Attendance

Bella Hawk, Gold

Trystan Borders, Gold

Sabryna Borders, Gold

Katryna Borders, Gold

Adam Clark, Silver

Megan Clark, Bronze

Drue Teske, Bronze

Swimmer of the Year 

Darcy Conder

Honorary Cheer Captain

Some of the swimmers made an honorary award for a parent they felt was most encouraging through the season.  

Ricky Borders was named the honorary cheer captain for the team this season and was awarded a megaphone signed by the swimmers.


The Gazette-Democrat

112 Lafayette St.
Anna, Illinois 62906
Office Number: (618) 833-2158

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
Comment Here