July weather in Union County

Heat index reaches 121.3 degrees, high 99

A pattern of hot and humid – and sometimes very hot and very humid – weather prevailed in Union County as July came to an end.

Heat index values went well over 100 degrees on a number of days during the period from July 19 through Aug. 1 in Union County.

The National Weather Service explains that the heat index is what the temperature feels like when humidity is combined with the air temperature.

Recent heat index readings which were recorded in Jonesboro included:

121.3 degrees at 4:30 p.m. on July 21.

116.4 degrees at 7 p.m. on July 24.

115.6 degrees at 1:30 p.m. on July 25.

High temperatures during the period generally were in the 90s. The high reached 97 on several days at the end of July.

Precipitation during the period included .23 of an inch July 19, .34 of an inch July 20, .15 of an inch July 25, 1.14 inches July 26, .29 July 28, .05 of an inch July 29, .02 of an inch July 31 and .62 of an inch Aug. 1. 

Following are temperatures for July 19 through Aug. 1 as recorded by weather observer Dana Cross in Jonesboro:

                                    H  L

Tuesday, July 19        97 73

Wednesday, July 20   90 72

Thursday, July 21       97 72

Friday, July 22            90 76

Saturday, July 23        94 73

Sunday, July 24          97 74

Monday, July 25         95 75

Tuesday,  July 26       92 75

Wednesday, July 27   96 73

Thursday, July 28       92 73

Friday, July 29            88 71

Saturday, July 30       90 69

Sunday, July 31         94 70

Monday, Aug. 1          88 72

July Weather

The high temperature for the month of July was 99 degrees, which was recorded on July 18. The average high for the month was 91.

The low for the month was 61, which was recorded on July 2. The average low was 71.

During the month, precipitation totalled 7.71 inches, which was very wet for a July in the area.

The most rain in a 24-hour period was 2.19 inches, recorded on July 4.

Precipitation for the year 2016 through the end of July totalled 35.35 inches.

The Gazette-Democrat

112 Lafayette St.
Anna, Illinois 62906
Office Number: (618) 833-2158
Email: news@annanews.com

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
6 + 9 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
Comment Here