Art, FBLA achievements noted at A-J Board of Education meeting

Anna-Jonesboro Community High School students have received recognition in art competitions and at an FBLA conference.

The honors were noted at a regular meeting of the A-JCHS District 81 Board of Education which was held Jan. 13.

A-JCHS students had art which they had created admitted into the Scholastic Art Awards competition at Cedarhurst Center for the Arts in Mt. Vernon.

Kyleigh Hamel won a Gold Key. Her self-portrait will compete nationally in New York City.

Leah Dirden and Sydney Waun earned Silver Key Awards.

The Scholastic Art Awards show is on display at Cedarhurst through Feb. 9, when a closing reception is scheduled.

Five A-JCHS students’ works of art were submitted for a Little Egypt Arts Association competition in Marion.

Katie Jo Kirk won a third place and best of show honors.

Students may receive other special awards until a closing reception, which is scheduled Feb. 16.

A-JCHS student artists Katie Jo Kirk and Ana Marcovic are competing in the One Great State Art Exchange. 

This is a downstate competition sponsored by the Art Institute of Chicago, which hopes to bring attention to the citizen artist.

Students have been asked to address the First Amendment in their art work. Students who have entered this contest have attended mandatory meetings, forums and critiques.

Students will be entering photographs of their work online in February. 

Up to 15 students from counties in Southern Illinois  may win an all-expense paid, two-week summer camp and college credit at the Art Institute of Chicago, along with their work going on a tour which will be displayed in libraries throughout the state.

A-JCHS FBLA members attended a regional conference Jan. 9 at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 

Twenty-six A-JCHS students were in attendance. This was the largest group of students attending from A-JCHS since Michelle Stevens has been FBLA adviser for four years.

Ellie Moore, Kiersten Wright and Darrian Quick placed first in the business financial plan category. They each received $10 from local sponsors for placing first.

Jenna Watkins placed first in business communications. 

Trevor Cochran was second in cyber security. Peyton Otey received second in entrepreneurship.

Krishna Patel received third in cyber security. Autumn Sisler and Ashlyn Voigt placed third in entrepreneurship.

Other items of note presented by the teachers included and noted in minutes from the Jan. 13 meeting include:

The school’s counseling department planned to begin resiliency small groups on Jan. 15. 

The groups are for students who lack resiliency skills necessary to be successful at school.

The groups are scheduled to run for six weeks and will teach skills such as identifying obstacles to success, positive and negative influences and setting achievable goals.

The counseling department also plans to give the sophomore class the Accuplacer test at the end of January.

The test determines the students’ eligibility for Shawnee Community College courses, including A-JCHS dual credit courses and transitional English courses.

Scheduling for the 2020-2021 school year is slated to begin in February.

In other business at the meeting:

The board approved an A-JCHS Art Club trip to Chicago.

An application was approved to apply for a school maintenance program grant to replace the roof on the lower gym.

The purchase of an indoor batting cage for the lower gym was approved.

The Gazette-Democrat

112 Lafayette St.
Anna, Illinois 62906
Office Number: (618) 833-2158

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 2 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
Comment Here